Marijuana in Maryland
Maryland solely permits marijuana for medicinal purposes. It is one of the 39 U.S. states that only partly acknowledge marijuana. However, you will need a license from the state to possess and use medicinal marijuana. The state oversees and supplies this. Except for Maryland citizens who are not patients, the government strictly forbids the use of marijuana for recreational or adult purposes.
Medical Marijuana has been legal in Maryland since 2015. However, Maryland’s medical marijuana program became operational only in 2017. The medical program, Natalie M. LaPrade Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC), became operational in 2017. This commission is the regulatory agency for medical marijuana in Maryland. It maintains and overlooks all the necessary policies, procedures, registries, and laws on medical marijuanas.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
Patients having the following medical conditions are eligible for the use of medical marijuana in Maryland.
● Chronic, Severe, or Intractable Pain
● Multiple Sclerosis (M.S.)
● Persistent Muscle Spasms
● Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
● Severe Nausea
● Wasting Syndrome
● Severe conditions where other medical treatments have been ineffective
● A medical condition, requiring hospice admittance or receiving palliative care
And other such severe, intractable conditions may come under this list when updated by the Maryland legislation.
● There is no tax on marijuana in Maryland.
● Any qualifying patient or caregiver may not be denied any right or privilege because of medical marijuana as long as they abide by the consumption guidelines.
● No patient can face criminal punishment if they follow the regulations laid down by the MMCC. They should always possess this license.
Maryland does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and so does not honor medical marijuana cards from other states.
Being a resident of Maryland, falling under the age limit, obtaining approval from a medical professional, and having the required documents is enough to apply for an MMJ Card in Maryland. Through the government-maintained MMCC Maryland website, one can go through the application process swiftly.
Create an account to register.
Register with MMCC. The method of registration differs based on the patient’s age and accommodation. Currently, we have the following:
● Adult Patients (18+ years of age).
● Minor Patients (Under 18 years of age).
● Patients with special discounts.
1. Access the Maryland OneStop Website to begin the application process.
3. Fill in the necessary fields following the password guidelines and click Register.
Apply for your Maryland Medical Cannabis Card!
1. Once the website opens, click the Browse button under the Personal category.
All documents must be dated within the past 90 days.
1. A valid, accessible email account.
2. Full 9- digit Social Security Number.
3. An electronic copy of a valid government-issued photo ID.
4. Proof that the applicant lives in Maryland.
Accepted forms of Identification proofs:
● Driver’s license
● State-issued photo Identification card
● Military ID (both front and back)
● US Passport
If the identification you provide does not identify your current address, you must also provide any two of the following documents as proof of your current Maryland address:
● MVA registration card or title
● MVA change of address card
● Utility, telephone or cable/satellite TV bill
● Bank account statement
● Property tax bill
● Mortgage statement or proof of home ownership (Deed, Title, Bill of Sale)
● Major credit card bill (Visa, MasterCard, Wal-Mart, Target, etc.)
● Residential rental contract (lease or rental contract between landlord and tenant which includes all signatures).
● Selective Service Card
● Federal, state, or local government mail issued by the state of Maryland (i.e., Social Security, social services)
● Car insurance policy
● Paystubs (dated within 90 days)
● W-2 statements
● State of Maryland Health Insurance issued documents (i.e., Medicaid, Medicare, Maryland Health Connection)
1. Clear, color photo of the patient’s unobscured face.
2. Taken within the last six months to reflect the patient’s current appearance and features.
3. A plain white or off-white background.
4. Patient must be clothed, directly facing the camera with both eyes open, and should have a neutral facial expression or a natural smile.
5. No hat, head covering, sunglasses, or dark glasses.
6. The file must be an image file (.jpg) no larger than 3 MB in size and may not be digitally enhanced or altered in a way that changes the patient’s appearance.
Temporary MMJ Card
1. After receiving a written certification, log in to your OneStop account (with the username and password you selected during registration).
2. Click on My Dashboard under My License, Permits, and Registration.
3. Click on the Patient License Number, then click on the Actions tab (green button) and select Temporary ID Card to view or print.
A temporary ID card must be within 90 days of the approval date. After 90 days, you will no longer be able to print a Temporary ID card.
Patients in hospice care may elect to submit a letter from the attending hospice physician. The letter must be from the Attending Hospice Record (AOHR) physician on hospice letterhead stating that the patient is a hospice patient under their care. One can upload it in either .jpg or .pdf format.
If you are a qualifying patient enrolled in the Maryland Medical Assistance Program or the Veterans Affairs Maryland Health Care System, you are eligible for a waiver of the $25 fee for the patient ID card. Complete the online patient registration form and provide the following documentation:
● VA Enrollee
○ Individuals are required to upload their U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs id Card. The expiration date must be valid and listed on the front of the VA ID card.
● Maryland Medical Assistance Program
○ A copy of your red and white medical assistance card from the state of Maryland is a requirement, and you can obtain it by contacting the Maryland Health Connection Call Center.
○ Either a Certificate of Creditable Coverage or an Eligibility Determination Letter from the Maryland Health Connection.
Patients pay $50.00 at the time of registration for an ID card. Patients in Hospice/Medicaid/VA assistance are eligible for a waiver of $25.
1. Once you register, use the same email address and password credential to log into your account.
2. Navigate to the Dashboard section to view the status of your application.
The Final Note!
Patients may only purchase and possess a maximum of 30-day supplies of medical marijuana at one time. A certification not used within 120 days of issuance becomes null and void. We are sure that this step-by-step guide helped you in every way possible.
2. Connect With A Registered Marijuana Doctor.
3. Receive Your Recommendation Instantly.
A Complete Process and Ways to find The Best Marijuana Doctors.In This Blog Introduction Find The Best Doctors Factors To Check while Selecting Online Medical Marijuana Doctors State Initiative Final Take Are you looking for "Medical marijuana...
Explaining the Process of Acquiring a Medical Marijuana Card in Illinois (Updated Process - 2023)Medical marijuana cards in Illinois has many benefits, and in this article, we will talk about getting the card in detail, so you get your own marijuana...
NLegalization Status of Weed in Illinois, Here is what you should know (2023)In This Blog Introduction Key facts about MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions Possession Can I Grow My Own Medicine? Requirements Process Bottomline Yes! The access, purchase,...